Awards & Recognition

Dr. John F. Miller, DDS

Dr. John F. Miller, DDS was recognized as an outstanding young professional in the Kalispell Chamber of Commerce’s annual “20 Under 40” awards. Miller is the owner of Smile Montana Dental Center, which has two offices in the Flathead Valley. He graduated magna cum laude from Arizona State University in 2007 with a degree in biology. He then attended the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry at University of the Pacific in San Francisco, where he was a recipient of the Dean’s Scholarship. Miller is active in the Montana Dental Association, American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry, Association of General Dentistry and American Dental Association.

Dr. John C. Kois, DMD, MSD

Dr. John C. Kois, DMD, MSD was awarded the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry’s 2017 Journal of Cosmetic Dentistry Award. The award recognized an outstanding paper titled, “No Dentistry is Better than No Dentistry… Really? Understanding Modes of Tooth and Restoration Failure.” Kois, a periodontal prosthodontist in Seattle, received his DMD from the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine and his MSD and certificate of periodontal prosthodontics from the University of Washington School of Dentistry. He is a previous recipient of the Dr. Thaddeus V. Weclew Award from the Academy of General Dentistry.

Kyle Isaacs, RDHEP, BHS

Kyle Isaacs, RDHEP, BHS, was one of four winners of the 2017 Sunstar/RDH Award of Distinction. When Isaacs moved to Oregon three years ago she volunteered to screen community members for oral abnormalities and started her own mobile dental hygiene business. She also brings dental services to people who can’t travel through Exceptional Needs Dental Services. Much of this work focuses on serving low-income elderly people living in long-term care facilities in rural Oregon. Isaacs is a graduate of Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and Nova Southeastern University.

ADHA Conference Awards

Four Northwest professionals received awards at the most recent American Dental Hygienists’ Association conference. Crystal Spring, RDH, BS, LAP of Montana won the Hu-Friedy/ADHA Master Clinician Award, which recognizes a clinical hygienist who shows outstanding expertise in relating the interdependence of clinical practice and patient education for the improvement of patient compliance. Katelyn J. Thompson of Oregon and Cori M. Pacanins of Washington were recipients of the undergraduate ADHA/Sigma Phi Alpha Excellence in Journalism Award. It goes to students who have written a review or original research paper that contributes to dental hygiene’s overall body of knowledge. The winner of the graduate award in the same category was Windy L. Rothmund, RDH, MSDH, a Washington resident.

William J. Gies Award

The University of Washington School of Dentistry received the William J. Gies Award for Vision by an Academic Dental Institution from the American Dental Education Association. The award went to the Regional Initiatives in Dental Education (RIDE) program, which is designed to increase the number of graduates who choose to work in rural and underserved areas of the state. Students spend their first year at Eastern Washington University’s Spokane campus, return to Seattle for their second and third years, then serve extended community clinical rotations in their fourth year. Since the program began in 2008, about 70 percent of graduates have gone on to practice in rural and underserved areas.